top of page
Search
  • marianalostabroad

Day 2 - Lost in the markets of Hong Kong

Updated: Jan 8, 2019


I was excited to start my day and record the city! But first I had to buy a good camera and guess what? I was in Hong Kong where all things (specially electronic devices) are cheaper than in most of the other countries in the world.


As I was staying on Hong Kong Island, my strategy was to first see everything from Tsim Sha Tsui side, so my first stop was the #kowloonpark. I was immediately struck by the peace that was found: the chirping of birds, turtles in the lakes and elderly ladies dancing in slow motion. The contrast is immediate between the noise of the city and the calm of the garden.


Continuing my itinerary, the next stops would all be located in the Mong Kok area, which included the electronic store where I've to buy my new camera, Goldfish market, Sneakers market and every other zones ended with "market".


During my search, I found Wing Shing Photo Supplies, a legit electronic store where I could finally buy my #canong7xmarkii to photograph and film everything during my travel.


After having bought an early Christmas gift for myself, my boyfriend and I took the opportunity to spend time at In's Point, a toy collector's paradise where you can find a dizzying array of #lego sets and products at heavily discounted prices! My boyfriend was in a trance and one of his main goals was to buy THE #milleniumfalcon lepin set...! Ahead...


As the dream of shopping could not end, we continued our journey and this time we stopped in the Sneakers market. I must confess that I was a little sad because I couldn't negotiate with the merchants, but I still saved about 15% of the original value in Portugal for the same product. After that we still managed to spend at the Goldish and Ladies market and I must say that even those who hate shopping wanted to make them here!

You'll have to have some game of waist to bargain for the prices of the products, but I think that's the reason people love to shop here: social interaction, being challenged and trying to win the best bet, the frenzy of trying to enter into the market, all this makes you want to go back to the market, even if you just bargain for a joke.


Last but not least, one of the purposes to come to Hong Kong was to taste their delicious food. And oh boy, how tasty it was!!!



I never knew the name of the restaurant, just that it's located on Java Road 72 North Point, near 7 Eleven convenience store. I discovered this restaurant after doing almost 30 km (yes, 30km !!!) and at 1AM it was almost all closed. I asked a local person the restaurants still open at that time, so I was advised this street restaurant (a very important thing: never doubt the advice of a local!). I was visibly stunned by not being my restaurant of choice and doubting the hygiene of the establishment, however I decided to try (cooked) food, namely the chicken noodles soup. My partner in crime ordered the beef noodles soup and ... OH MY F WORD GOD! The flavor explosion in my mouth was incredible! It was SO good that we repeated the dishes. We had the best of two worlds: cheap and great food! It is very difficult to be surprised, and this was definitely one big positive surprise that I will never forget.


It was a happy day end.

We were dreaming.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page